Wrecked

For derelict Thursday hosted by SarumStroller.

Dear Blipfoto

We have been together now for 1,000 days.

We need to talk. When we started out I did not expect it to last this long; I was surprised to make through a month. The excitement of each red balloon milestone and your wonderful journals kept me going. Lately I have found it difficult to find the enthusiasm to comment (for this I do apologise) and even posting an image a day has been a struggle; it’s me not you. I have changed while you remain vibrant and exciting.

It seems to me that we should see other people and do different things. You will have bright new subscribers with journals for you to browse. For me I am going to college; I have started a BA (Hons) Photography at Hereford College of Arts. I spent a long time working as an accountant in industry hoping I would find something more interesting to do. Funding a mortgage and raising a family were always my excuse for not really looking. Well as of now I am an art student; that does sound odd.

I hope we can still be friends. My membership has a few months to run so I will pop back now and check out your journals. I will leave the occasional comment or two. If it is OK with you I will share some of the images I produce for my course on an ad hoc basis. No commitment though, I am not ready for that sort of relationship again at the moment.

Yes it is time for me to take a break. I do need to thank my sister in law for introducing me to Blipfoto. Also to everyone that has taken the time to view, comment and rate my efforts, thank you and I hope you continue your journals – I will be checking.

Of course the team at Blip do an amazing job and I am sure that the last 1,000 days have contributed to my decision to study photography; it certainly provided most of the images I used at my interview. So thank you and I wish you continued success in this wonderful venture.

Last but by no means least I must thank my family for their support during the last two and a half years or so and the encouragement they have given to go back to college.

For those interested this is my first proper week and we have our first assignments. The “Practice in Context” component covers the ideas that influence and underpin creative practice. The first module comes in two parts; one is critical reviews of books, lectures by visiting artists and exhibition reviews. The second is either comparing the works of two photographers in the same field or discussion of the quote “if I could tell a story in words I wouldn’t need to lug a camera” (Lewis Hine). Eeek. The practical module is image making and over the next 4 weeks we have to build a photographic documentary that includes observed portrait, person at work, relationship, detail and establishing (whatever that is).

Still it has to be fun, doesn’t it?

This image was taken on a field trip to Barry Island; we stopped to review an exhibition and then on to Barry to do some street photography, I got sidetracked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.