Pinktastic

Down the throat of a rhododendron.

Pink for Breast Cancer Awareness month.

I was in Nelson yesterday and must have been approached in a dozen different ways to contribute towards Breast Cancer Research fundraising.

Each time I said, "No, I give a lump sum every year to the Cancer Society" - but I don't think any of the people believed me! Maybe the Society needs to look into a lapel pin or keyring or something for us to wear that makes it clear that we do donate a considerable amount.

As a breast cancer survivor, and with family members who have variously suffered from (and are survivors of) cervical cancer, bowel cancer and lymphomas, I believe in the importance of contributing to the Society that has supported each of us through both research and daily support. For that reason they get a very reasonable sum from me each year - but it is frustrating when the individuals who are fundraising don't know that, and give me really skeptical looks.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.