Fall Color

I got a new toy today. I had been waffling back and forth between two new cameras. The reason is that I want to travel lighter and not take my whole kit when I take a trip. I'll be going soon to the desert to spend five days with my son. We will be hanging out in the desert during the day and visiting with his cousins and their two kids in the evening. And next year Arvin and I will be traveling in Europe. I want to take both painting supplies and a camera and my current kit, even though smaller than a full size DSLR kit, still packs large.

I was thinking about two cameras both by Panasonic, the DMC LX100 and the DMC FZ1000. The former has a cropped M4/3 sensor, is quite a bit smaller and has a shorter zoom (24-75). The latter is much bigger, has a smaller one inch sensor and a longer zoom (25-400). I almost pre ordered the LX100 but finally realized I wanted the longer zoom. I have the Sony RX100 which has a one inch sensor and I've found it quite able to do the kinds of photos I want. And I love the idea of not having to change lenses while having a good range from wide to telephoto.

So I got the FZ1000 and it arrived today. Truly it is big but it fits my hand really well and it is not too heavy. It also shares batteries with Arvin's camera so I was able to load it up and immediately go out and do some shooting. This is one of the photos I took. I had it on auto ISO and was shooting fine jpegs instead of the raw that I usually shoot. I was really impressed with the image quality at 1000 ISO. Take a look large to get a closer look. Pretty nifty. So I am delighted with my new toy. I think it may well change the way I shoot. More news later as I keep using it.

As for our day today, I had a lovely morning tea with my friend Carroll and Arvin, Helena and I went out to dinner and then to My Old Lady. It was a great movie and we all loved it. All three of the main actors were terrific.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.