New wheels

Went into Hitchin for breakfast this morning and somehow ended up buying a new road bike. Not from the cafe of course. Stuck my head in the door of a cycle shop on the way to the bakers and the salesman somehow, against all the odds, persuaded me to part with a not insignificant sum of money for these wheels. I think he used hypnotism or some similar trickery because it's not easy to get me to buy something I don't need (but long for) I can tell you.

Family round for dinner tonight, so my afternoon will be spent tied to the stove. Not that I mind. I'm very at home in the kitchen - especially with a glass of wine in my hand.

Harry flew in from Australia yesterday lunchtime, but we haven't seen him or Rosina since. I think they have been making up for their time apart. Hopefully they will be able to surface for air and join us for dinner tonight.

Final note - I really must buy some clothes that fit. There's less of me than there once was, but for now, I'm hanging onto the old clothes in case the bit of me that went away returns. Many people do it the other way round, buying clothes that they will one day wear when there is less of them to go round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.