Signs of Support

This is the wonderful banner my friends Alison and Kez had for me at Yorkshire Marathon

It was quite the day . Set off in the dark , seven of us in one of the club members cars. Banter all the way there, the odd wee stop in a bush and loud loud music to get us in the moods ( nothing like approaching these things calmly )


I did the course last year so knew what was coming . The support lining the route was amazing and as I know so many more runners this year I recognised more faces in the crowds , Parkrunners and club members who had come to shout at us idiots.

I was quite emotional seeing Alison and Kez at the 14 mile point with this banner . How are you feeling they asked " Great " I said and then wondered where that big lie had come from. Still you can't say " I want to vomit, cry and wee and my feet are burning and I still have 12 miles to do "

It's a huge beast to tackle is the marathon , it's my 3rd and I knocked 12 mins off my previous PB.

I have said never again but that's the biggest lie ever told amongst the running community .

This link sums up so well some of the other stuff you hear

Running is brilliant, painful but brilliant

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.