Milk run

We get through a phenomenal amount of tea and coffee in our office. Even with ten of us, sometimes people end up making more than one round a day. Consequently, we also get through quite a lot of milk.

Usually, if we're getting low, someone will pick up some milk from Asda at lunchtime but this afternoon we actually ran out. I volunteered to pop out and get some but, given my recent blog about supermarkets and the price of milk, I thought I'd see if I could get some from somewhere other than Asda.

The wife of one of my colleagues had mentioned that the Ice Cream Parlour, which is quite near Asda, sold milk and I thought she'd mentioned it being unpasteurised, too (although I wasn't quite sure how keen my colleagues would be about this). So I went there.

Disappointingly, they don't sell milk although they had a spare two litre bottle that they were happy to sell me. (Although they use farm fresh milk, which is great, I was surprised to see the farm in question was in Eccles!). Milk purchased, then, I returned to my car to head back to work but as I did so, I noticed their garden, which is delightful in summer but now looks rather autumnal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.