Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Runny nose...

Oh, how could I not blip a Roseate Spoonbill??? I saw my first one of these at this same place in January of 2012 and I was no less excited today than I was then to see that telltale flash of pink and that big, awkward "nose". And if you look LARGE you'll see the drop of water at the end of his nose beak!

I was up before dawn this morning and decided to drive over to John's Pass to watch the birds on the beach there. I was rewarded with loads of Snowy and Great egrets fishing in the surf, as well as several great blue herons and even a single willet. I was feeling so good that I then decided to take the 30 minute drive north to Sand Key Park in Clearwater which is where I spotted the two spoonies. I had a nice walk hobble around the little trail and even managed to drag myself out to the beach, boot and all. It was just such a beautiful morning and it felt so good to be outside.

I posted 8 pics on Flickr, starting HERE with a white little blue heron (yes, you read that right - he's white, but he's a Little Blue Heron.)

Back home for lunch and then I tackled the last of the insurance transfer. I now need to get back over to DMV with both cars and get them registered with FL tags. It is VERY expensive to register your cars when moving here from out of state ($300-500 PER car!) so I am not looking forward to it. But, it needs to be done...

I was back to wearing my "boot" today because my foot is still really too sore for a regular shoe. I probably should ice it now, too, since I was on it quite a bit this morning.

Thanks for the kind comments on Slappy. You'll be seeing more of he and his brethren. I can't resist a pelican.

Ciao, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.