At the match

Got the bus to Newcastle at 1.15pm - in plenty of time for a 3pm kick off. Newcastle United were playing at home against Leicester. On my journey to town I sat next to one of Becky and Neil's old school teachers. He likes to get regular updates on his former pupils.

Once in Newcastle I made my way to the football ground. Was surprised to see thousands of fans milling around - and no turnstiles open. I was wondering what was up when I got a text from my daughter Becky to say that the newly installed big screen inside the ground had bits falling off it so for health and safety reasons they were not letting the fans in.

The crowds outside the ground increased as time went on. A couple of announcements were made on loud hailers but these were inaudible. Becky texted again saying that the turnstiles would open at 3.15pm and the match would now kick off at 4pm - one hour late. Crazy that Becky in London had more info about the situation than I did outside the ground.

Anyway the turnstiles did open at 3.15pm and 4pm was the revised kick off time. From my seat I couldn't see the offending big screen so even if it was working it was of no use to me.

I had arranged to meet fellow blipper Shaaamie today at the match but with all the kerfuffle it wasn't possible. HERE is the blip shot I took of him last time we met. Best I could do today was take a shot of where Shaaamie usually sits. Hopefully we can meet up at the next home game.

Newcastle won the match 1 - 0 - our first win for ages so the mood in town after the game was a happy one. I popped into Tesco and Waitrose before getting the bus home.

Weather today was very mild for the time of year but a bit windy.

Steps today - 8,865

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.