Instography

By Instography

Remembrance 7: Heritage

It's odd what the need for photograph does to your priorities and values. This morning I was driving to Loch Lomond to meet up with some friends for a canoe around the islands (once we'd broken through the ice). Of course, my need to get a photograph - the last of my week on the topic of remembering - was on my mind and it wasn't long before I was scanning the hedgerows and lamp-posts looking for a bunch of flowers. And getting irritated that there weren't any. OK. It's not The Falling Man but that's not good way to be thinking.

Then I was irritated because I hadn't taken my camera on the canoe. My Lumix is away for repair and I just didn't want to risk the Canon getting a soaking. But that meant I missed a cracking photo which would been a perfect finale. I'll go back for it another day.

Still, on the drive back, I got some gravestones (just in case) but then I took a wee detour through Culross, home to the National Trust's Palace. I'm not sure about the way pots of money are spent preserving the homes of toffs but at Culross, I think the best bit is the beautiful walled garden. They leave the garden open when the Palace is closed so I had a nice wee wander round with the place to myself as the light faded. This is what I'd like my garden to look like. If I had a huge garden, the time, the inclination and the skill.

ps. If you look between the buildings you can see my car with the canoe on top. I thought about photoshopping the car and the bus stop out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.