Brevard White Squirrel

Did you even know there were white squirrels?!?  I didn't!

Not until Richard told me about them.  He had seen a photo on a travel brochure and did some investigating without telling me.  Brevard, NC is one of only 4 towns in the US and one in Canada that claim these unusual squirrels.  They are also present in Europe, apparently.

Lucky of us, Brevard is only about an hour from our resort.  And along the way are many beautiful waterfalls.

So, this morning we had an early start and headed west.  Our first stop was at Looking Glass Falls in Pisgah National Forest.  These waterfalls were an easy walk down some stairs.  You don't even need to get out to car in order to see them if you don't want to.  But that's not our style.

At one of the waterfalls we visited later on we were walking back to the car when we saw two guys walking towards the waterfall with a surfboard.  "What are you going to do?" I asked.  "Water ski," They said.  Well we didn't want to miss this! So we stayed to watch!  Just too funny!

Between visiting waterfalls we went to Brevard College which is where we were told has the best concentration of white squirrels.  And we were not disappointed.  All we had to do was pull into the parking lot of the college, look to our left and there they were in all their glory!  I absolutely love these squirrels and miss them now that I am home!  I wanted to pack some up with me and bring them home!

For more information on the white squirrels,  check out this link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.