The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Beard

Looking back through the blips, it is 6 months since I last featured a Highland cow. I've stayed away from their field below the Knott for Gus's sake, or else he would have been covered in ticks. But now that we are well into Autumn, tick activity has subsided. This is one of four of the younger Highlands that have the big pasture to themselves at the moment.

Gus and I wandered over the field at lunchtime. I was still feeling extremely delicate after yesterday when I was struck down by a mysterious stomach bug that had me confined to bed all day. In 24 hours all I ate was one Digestive biscuit, and even that left me feeling queasy. Anyway, as today has gone on, I have been returning to normal, or what passes for it in my case.

News on the Old Flyer is that he is progressing well, though still in hospital. The poor man will be getting mightily bored though. He did have some excitement the first night he was in his new ward, someone tried to get into bed with him in the middle of the night. Some old fellow had got up to go to the loo and couldn't remember where his bed was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.