Trent 1000

The conference finished yesterday and our flight isn't until this afternoon, so this morning we went to visit the Boeing factory in Everett, and Paine field. We got to see 747s, 777s and 787s in various stages of final assembly - all very impressive! Sadly no cameras are allowed on the tour, so the only photos I have are from the fairly small and uninteresting museum that the tour departs from. This is the Rolls Royce Trent 1000 used for all the flight testing of the first flying 787 prototype. I notice that the bits that get the plane up (the engines) and down (the landing gear) safely are made in the UK!

I'm now at the stage of the trip where I just want to get home to my wife and boy and look after them. Between teething and a cold (I'll let you work out who had which) they have had one of the hardest weeks since he was born, and I've not been there to help. They seem to have coped magnificently.

Hopefully they will be glad to see me on Saturday evening, and will let me off for leaving them alone...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.