youngies journey

By youngie66

Watching The World Go By

Sorry if yu were expecting a train shot on my travels today but for all your rail buffs I have created two foilios titled Trains & Stuff Scotland 1 &2 so you can see it all there.
Anyway where was I ahh yes it was a day of using 6 different trains today to travel over another two railway lines I have never traversed bein the Ayr to Stranraer route and also the Barassie to Kilmarnock branch which bot were completed successfully today so thanks to Blipper JoppaStrand for giving me the impetus to go out whilst I was off along with the Balloch branch yesterday, now then I started off getting the 07.35 service fro Inverkeithing direct to Queen Street station and headed to Central station as I got off at Queen Street I bumped into one of my former BR drivers Insdpectors Phil C who was the very first Inspector to pass me out on my first engine a class 37/4 at the Old Eastfield depot so it was nice to reminisce as he is a Driver manager with Virgin West Coast at Glasgow so it was nice to have a lovely chat whilst in between stations at Glasgow even the smell of amonia didn't put me off my blether coming from no doubt someone being caught short for a pee urgghh oh well I soon got the fresh air again.
Now I headed on the 09.38 service to Starnraer going down a route I drove frequently as a driver passing Irvine,Troon Prestwick where I seen a huge cargo jumbo jet then passing Falkland Yard and Ayr Traction diesel shed which is all closed up before heading past Ayr to go through places like Maybole Girvan Blairhall and passing through some gorgeous countryside if I could design my own thick forest it would be with silver birch, Larch and pine trees with moss covered dry stane dykes inside the forest my ideal walk especially in the autumn walking on the soft orange needles of the larch listening to the wildlife that's my kind of walk in the forest.
Anyway I digress I got to Stranraer bang on time had a quick wander as the train left 50 minutes after arriving it's such a shame to see how ghostly the former Stenna ferry terminal looks like now and must have been a major loss to the town, and then I was back on the train and getting off at Girvan for a 45 minute stop over so I quickly walked the 13 minute walk according to google maps down to the harbour and seafront which only took me 9 minutes with a wee shortcut I noticed I could take via the satelite shot so my blip here is of Ailsa Craig not the normal view you get with the lighthouse but still nice all the same so I took plenty shots but liked this the best as I stood stairing out to Ailsa Craig in my own wee world then before I realised it was time for another quick walk up to Girvan station for my next train which started at Girvan as this one was going to Glasgow via Kilmarnock which had the branch line I wanted to travel over to chalk my 3rd line in two days to take oiff my hit list with not too many to go now then after arriving at Central I headed to Queen Street for my direct service on the 17.33 to Markinch getting off at Inverkeithing and that was my day which I really enjoyed and also did a questionaire for passengers on the train from someone working in conjunction with transport scotland which she was on 3 of my trains today thankfully I only had to fill it in once and that was it for todday so feel free to check out my folios of Trains and stuff 1&2 now then movie for the day is "Flying High 1931" and have a great weekend folks See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.