Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise over the Canal

Firstly, my thanks for all of your views, comments, stars and hearts for last night's image. I really didn't see it getting such a wonderful response. I'm chuffed.

Less than 12 hours after the starscape was taken I was out again, on the way back from the Supermarket, when I got an inkling of some more atmospheric fireworks. Imagine me, running along a track towards this canal, hoping that the colour in the sky would remain for a few minutes more. It did!

Technical: There was a 3 stop ND Grad used in the lens and I still needed to process it as a HDR (5 shots, 1 stop apart). I learnt something today about HDR processing using HDR Efex Pro; if you ony use the mid image and the -2 and +2 stop images, the resultant image has less mid tones. I reprocessed with all 5 images and got much better rendition of the area on the horizon, which had the hottest highlights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.