A mini world......

I LOVE fungi!! they have such wonderful, sinister sounding names...........
Such as:- The amethyst deceiver, The Avenging angel The sickner, Devil's fingers, Yellow stainer, Jelly rot, Ear pick fungus, and Death cap to name but a few!
Today's fungal offering is a beautiful wax cap (possibly scarlet, but I am not sure) which was growing in the short grass of the cricket pitch at Ebernoe in West Sussex.
I am sorry to say I had to pick it to get a decent shot for you, as it was so very close to the ground I could only see the top of the cap. Even so, I think it makes a great shot in the surrounding diverse vegetation I managed to pick with it, and I did only pick the one!!!
Off to Winkworth arboretum tomorrow with Historian, so hopefully more fungi shots to follow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.