New Toy

I had been wanting to get a Zuiko 60mm macro which is reputed to give superb close up results but I had also been hearing that to focus it quicky and accurately in low light could be a bit of a chore. Being a lazy sort of shooter my interest was beginning to wane. I may eventually still get one but it is slipping down my priority list for now.

As it happens, Trisharooni has been getting fantastic results from her gorgeous Zuiko 75mm f1.8 and I was positively jealous. If there's one thing I miss with the m4/3 OMD, it's the effortless shallow dof effects one can get at wider apertures on larger format cameras. The 75mm changes all that and easily behaves like something in full frame. Being a retired type these days my mad money won't run to a 75mm f1.8 and so I have plumbed for the lesser but still pretty decent Zuiko 45mm f1.8 (seen here attached to the E-M5 on my knee) - something I had actually wanted to purchase last year.

Anyway it's been a loooong day and I have had more of a chance to look AT the new glass rather than THROUGH it. While idly aiming and focusing it appears to promise much. Believe you me. It'll get a heavy workout in the days to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.