Altar girl.

I did my first volunteering shift at the church today. It was just Kevin and myself, and in three hours, we had one visitor. I was hoping for more, but apparently, that's the way it goes. I have to say, that our one and only visitor was not the ideal person to have as my introduction to the job. We hadn't been open long, when a guy came in who told us he was homeless. We could just about understand what he was saying, as he spoke so fast, and he was from Liverpool. We gave him a cup of tea ,and he said he hadn't eaten for two days. Kevin offered him the biscuits, but he would only eat the one. He then asked us for money ,and we both said we don't carry any on us. He then got up and told us he was going to knock on the door of the Manse . Off he went, and a few minutes later he was back. He said, just my luck, the Reverend is on holiday. We again offered him more tea and biscuits, but he refused. He didn't look like a man you would want to start an argument with! When he had gone, Kevin laughed and said, that's not a very good start for you on your first day. I had a good look around the church, and all the rooms behind the scenes. We closed the church at 2 0' clock, and J met me and we went to Sainsburys to do the food shopping. When we arrived home, our neighbour came out and gave us some cheese scones he had just taken out of the oven. Now that is what i call a welcome home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.