Simply.......

The best!!!!
I am sure I have said it before but I simply love the autumnal moths! but before this season I have had little chance of catching much as my previous moth trap was unable to be run if there was any risk of rain!
This year with my new (to me) Robinson I am having a ball.
I have been lucky and so far caught most of the long list of moths I wanted to see, but this little beauty really is the icing on the cake!
I think this Mervielle du Jour, is absolutely stunningly beautiful and wonderfully camouflaged to look like the lichen covered trunks on which it sits during the day.
The Mervielle du jour Griposia aprilina, litrally translated means 'Wonder of the day', and is arguably one of our most beautiful British moths. It is widespread, though thinly scattered over most of Britain, and flies in September and October, only coming to light in small numbers so I was extremely pleased to catch one. It is only the second time I have actually seen one, the first being a single specimen trapped in my garden in 2012.
I hope you have enjoyed seeing this moth as much as I have enjoyed sharing it with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.