Return to the North

By Viking

Highland fling

A parent mentioned to em a couple of weeks ago that there was a big Highland dancing competition taking place this saturday in Tui, with entrants from all over NZ so I decided I would show my face and give some moral support. I was myself a highland dancer 40 years ago and love to watch it.

i head up in the morning and they were doing the Irish dancing sections. I stayed for about an hour but irish dancing is not my thing, so i checked that the Highland dancers were on after lunch, so went home and came back for another couple of hours this afternoon.
I did get sharper shots of these girls but only when they were still and the shots were boring because of it. The point and shoot really doesn't do movement! But i liked the movement in this shot. half the battle with the dancing is to swing the kilt and these girls certainly did!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.