The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

"His Majesty the King

... has expressed his desire that this Fourth Anniversary of the War should be observed with special solemnity as a National Day of Prayer."

Tucked away between the pages of my family bible are bits and pieces of our history that include what you see here, an Order of Service dated Sunday, August 4th 1918 and a leaf that was placed there to be pressed decades before my birth in the late 40's.

I confess that this started out as an emergency blip using my smartphone, but I found myself engrossed, once again, by the family stories tucked away between the pages. Stories about the spinster great-aunts who spent their lives in "Papa's house", of the family fortune lost in the Great Depression, a man my grandmother called a cousin who was a musician and who died leading his string quartet playing "Nearer My God to Thee" on the Titanic. It became important to me that these stories be well represented here and I hope I did them justice with this image.

... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.