Fidget Pie!

The other day I was going through my pile of Christmas recipes, pulled out from magazines over the years, looking for inspiration for this year. I have far too many, the oldest one was cut out by my granny in 1934 - I blame her for starting this collection! What I did come across was a recipe for Fidget Pie.

Why fidget? I don't know, it's a Shropshire speciality apparently, layers of ham, potato, onions and apples in a pasty crust. It's made in a deep cake tin and takes over an hour to bake. The version I found used pears instead of apples and had a mustard and onion creamy sauce holding it all together. Excellent! And one of those foods that improves once it's cold - which is a good thing, as it will last us a couple of days at least!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.