Northern Exposure

By Northern

The Silver bough volumes 1 to 4

I have a mild obsession with folk lore. Don't get me wrong, I am not an expert or even able to spout interesting facts or tell tall tales at the drop of a hat. I'm just curious.

My better half works at the library and was asked so often if he could get me one or other of these books out on loan that when he found out a couple of years ago that they were being reprinted he bought me my own set.

Volume one was originally published in 1957, with the others following over the next decade or so. They are a treasure trove of all sorts of strange happenings and odd habits that occur in Scotland.

Although, on reading the books you do form an idea that there's an awful lot of traditions, celebrations and mystical events in Scotland that revolve around bannocks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.