The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

Bookish Blip....

I know I am getting on a bit but this is my favourite SF series I have read, E.E.(Doc) Smith, The Skylark Series. The 1st book, The Skylark of Space is one of the earliest novels of interstellar travel. Originally serialized in 1928 in the magazine Amazing Stories, my version was printed 1974. Although dated now, I really like how Dr Seaton goes through the Galaxy fighting the baddies and always coming out on top, with his wife Dot and friends Martin M Crane and his wife Peggy travel in their faster than light space ship looking for answers to insoluble problems.
The Evil Dr DeQuesne tries to thwart them in at every turn.

BTW if anyone can pronounce Dr DeQuesne I would be grateful.

Off to the Camera club tonight, and this may be the last time too, as last week I came across a member who looks as if he has cheated in the competitions and bought it to the attention of the committee, but I think that because he is an older member, he may get away with it and remain at the top of the league, knocking me off into 2nd place in the Mono and equal 1st in the colour prints. It may sound like sour grapes but I detest people who flout the rules and seem to get away with murder.
I will let you know what happens, but I think I may already know the answer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.