Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Chomp!

Anyone remember a song from the 70's called Poke Salad Annie? One of the lines in the song goes something like this:
"...Gator's got your grannie. Chomp!"

Yep, I totally geeked out today when I spotted this rather large gator just slowly cruising around the little lake I was at. The turtles on the bank paid it no mind; nor did the egret or heron who were fishing on the bank. But a turtle in the pond was keeping a sharp eye on it and when the gator picked up speed and headed in the turtle's direction, the turtle skedaddled. The gator was pretty far away so most of my shots were crap - but I rather liked this one where he was headed towards where I was sitting (well out of gator range, I hasten to add). Later, when I came by the same spot, he was out on the bank and I'm going to guess that he was about 10 feet, maybe a little more. Big fella.

I barely missed seeing a coyote (darn, darn, darn) according to an elderly couple who stopped their car to let me know they'd just seen it. This is the same place where I've now seen wood stork, spoonbills, otters and gators (in addition to all the usual FL birds) - Boca Ciega Millenial Park. It is about 5-8 minutes from where I live, so it has become a regular haunt of mine.

Two more pics on Flickr, starting here with a little butterfly and concluding with another shot of Toothy. (Yes, I've named him - I told you I totally geeked out.)

Hubs and I went to our favorite local sushi spot for dinner last night - where everyone was abuzz about how cold it is! We chuckled to ourselves and slept with out windows open. :) Hubs is watching the F1 race right now... on our new sofa with dual recliners. Yep, they finally got delivered today. Very comfy and I think I am going to grab my Kindle and join him.

Thank you for stopping by...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.