Innocence

Yesterday I saw the blackbirds taking food into the nest so I peeped in this morning while the parents were away. All four eggs have hatched. You can see three beaks in this photo. The chicks were sound asleep, a pulsating mass of fluff and bare skin. This is not a great shot, but I had to climb the ladder as far as I dared and then reach way out with the camera in one hand. I don’t like to intrude in case they are abandoned, but I’ll try again in a few days.

The nor’wester battles on, very cool, with frequent showers. The mountains have been hidden under heavy dark grey clouds. I’m sure it’s snowing up there.

Last night my son did emergency repairs on the greenhouse, which should hold until he can replace the section. Fortunately I haven’t planted out the tomatoes yet. Next weekend, Show Week, is the traditional time for planting tomatoes here.

Update on yesterday’s mayfly- it was still on the curtain this morning. In a couple of hours when I wasn’t looking it cast off its old skin and emerged with transparent wings. Photos here if you are interested. Later the yellow faded, leaving the wings crystal clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.