Mono Monday Old and New

Perfect day for a Mono Monday photograph. It's dreich (if I remember the spelling of this cool word) out with very little photo attracting charm. I'm feeling lazy even though we've already made two trips out.

Saved by the Mono Monday challenge hosted this week by Skeena. Since I have Costco reader glasses everywhere throughout the house, I came up with the idea of old and new spectacles. The two old ones are from my father's father's house. I am not sure if they are his or his wife's but they are very old. The little pair have no glass so I have to be very careful of their fine tortoiseshell frames. The ones with bendable frames are in a case from the midwest. They might even be glasses from a further back generation. Dad's parents came from Accident, Maryland.

Anyhow, I set them up and photographed them on the dining room table on a large envelope. I liked the shadows made by the bank of tube lights above the table. I used the Nik detail extractor to bring out the shadow detail and then the Nik Silver Efex Pro to turn them into a mono. Last step was the Photoshop Poster Edges filter to add to the old fashion feel of the photograph. Much fun. (Large)

Thanks to you all for commenting and giving stars to some of my resent uploads from 2009. I have decided to work backwards from when I first blipped (January 2010) and fill in some of my past photos and activities. I like the idea of having an expanding record of my life and photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.