The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Constable in the Cotswolds

Today's mission was to get to a village called Ewen, in the North Cotswolds, by half-past nine. Fortunately I had a lift, and it was a bright but misty autumn morning. We were off to the life drawing group on a farm. I blipped the artist's studio about five weeks ago.

Just as we were crossing the stream that is the start of the Thames, I let out a yell, because I'd seen a very rural, bucolic sight that reminded me of a Constable painting. Luckily Chris, the driver, understood, and reversed a bit so we could jump out and take photos. A bunch of ducks then swam upstream into shot. Yay!

We couldn't linger, because we were already late, which isn't great if you're the model! The morning was highly relaxing because I was allowed to read, the pose was comfotable, and it was warm enough. Being paid to read or sleep is always a good feeling. I'd like to go there again to work before Christmas, on the off-chance that there'll be mulled wine or cordial and mince pies! Our hostess, who owns the farm, really is the mostest.

It was still sunny when I got home, and I'd intended to go walking, but first I had to have lunch, and clear up the bomb craters left by yesterday's attempts to give birth to a giraffe produce some artwork for an exhibition. By the time I'd done that, and written some letters and wrapped a birthday present, the sun had vanished behind Rodborough fort. CleanSteve has kindly dropped off my submission at the museum, so all I have to do now is cook the dinner. Yippee to that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.