Closed

Went to the doctor's this morning to address a niggling problem, but the surgery was shut, along with everything else. 11th November is a public holiday in France, a day it seems when one is not allowed to be unwell! So I took the opportunity to drive up to the Tours St. Laurent, which overlook my local town. The towers were home and workshop to French artist, Jean Lurçat, whose atelier is now a museum open to the public (except for today). They are floodlit at night and seem to float in the sky above the town. I don't mean to be flippant about the war dead. I think their loss is tragic, and inestimably sad. But more than anything I feel angered by their wasted lives, and sickened that we are still sending the flower of our youth off to die in pointless conflicts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.