An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Road to Hell...

Was up bright and breezy this morning determined to make the best of the day.

Had decided my wardrobe was getting a massive clear out. Anything not worn in the last 12 months was for the heave ho. Couldn't wait to get Alan's lunch over and get upstairs and get started but by 10.30am I could hardly stand up let alone move due to agonising pain in my right knee. The only thing I can think that's caused it is I had a great sleep last night (didn't wake up once) and don't think I moved a muscle so wondering if I've just been lying in the one position for too long.

Two lots of painkillers haven't shifted it so my get-up-early-get-lots-done day has turned into a hobble-about-only-when-necessary-otherwise-stay-seated day. Very frustrating.

On a more positive note, we've had a letter advising that Alan's been nominated for a Perthshire Spirit of Youth Award. The awards aim to recognise the achievements of young people in the area in sport, the arts, the environment and the local community. Alan's been nominated as part of his school's Environmental Group. The awards ceremony is at Perth Concert Hall later this month, where he'll get the chance to meet up with teachers from school and the other members of the group.

The group worked really hard so I am over the moon at the recognition they're receiving for all their efforts. And of course I'm very proud of my boy. He on the other hand is totally non plussed and says he's not going to the awards ceremony. I know his reaction is mainly based on anxiety, fear of praise and hating being the centre of attention. I am hoping we can persuade him otherwise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.