Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Christmas

Christmas. There, I've said it. It's out there. The 'C-word'. Christmas! There - I've said it again.

Now, I know this will be incomprehensible to a lot of people, but I love Christmas. Can't come too soon for me and I don't mind that it all seems to start in October. I like it even more now that most shopping can be done online so the crowds can be avoided, but we didn't avoid them today. Quite the opposite, as we visited a Christmas Fair at the Design Centre in Islington.

One thing I discovered by attending an event such as this is that as the customers there were around 99.9% female, I became totally invisible. Stallholders ignored me and concentrated all their attentions on W but more interesting was that I was totally invisible to the customers too. They would walk into me, ignore my 'excuse me's' when they were blocking the way, and generally act as though I didn't exist. If I can work out how I achieved this, I may try to sell the secret to Google - I'm sure they would be interested.

This reindeer wasn't at the Fair but standing on the edge of Covent Garden. I rather like it.

Ho, Ho, Ho!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.