briocarioca

By briocarioca

Fruitful

Which my efforts to publish this blip yesterday weren't - guess I never made it past the preview stage. The plaque was a present from my daughter and normally hangs above my computer. It has taken long enough, but I'm finally intending to take the advice - semi-retirement, at least, from mid-December. Time to enjoy the fruits of my labours.

It was one of those 'never catch up with your tail' days. Staying up late to meet a deadline left me wide awake by the time I got to bed, so I overslept in the morning. Threw some clothes on and skipped breakfast (worse, failed to feed the cats) to chase after HH and not miss yet another gym class. He came to the market on the way home to help carry things but his performance did not impress - didn't pull his weight, I felt. He skivved off before me and left me muttering about the injustice of it all as I struggled back later.

Once home, I was so busy tidying up for a friend's visit that I still hadn't breakfasted by the time she arrived. We were supposed to meet her last Friday, but she was laid low by some bug and her husband came alone (more expat friends from way back, revisiting their old haunts). It was so good to see her and the rest of the morning passed very pleasantly. I sallied out with her to find a particular pair of shoes she wanted, then joined HH for a light lunch in a little place that has just opened on our block. Beautifully done up and some delicious food and coffee I had a mouth-watering mushroom quiche. There was more Wednesday Wisdom on their wall - "Keep calm and eat cupcakes". I'll stick with the 'keep calm' bit, I'm not much of a cupcake fan (hope my daughter doesn't read this, she's a cupcake queen and has raised quite a lot of money for charity with her rather special cupcakes).

One more piece of Wednesday Wisdom - my blip friend Leonine told my that one should never put bananas in a bowl with other fruit, because it makes them go brown. How many bananas have I bought over the years, and I never knew that! Many thanks for the tip, Leo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.