Vision on!

These buildings in Kirkby Lonsdale used to belong to a special needs school but a couple of years ago the site was sold when (I think) the school was bought out. There are a number of buildings on the site, all covered in this thick white... whatever it is. Pebbledash?

Anyway, today, as I walked Dan up to drama, I noticed the building at the back had been stripped down to the original stonework. I think it looks loads better. But maybe at the time it was covered up, white pebbledash (or whatever it is) was all the rage.

Other notable events, today: a friend's cynical view that "no good deed goes unpunished" was, on this occasion, backed up when I got a parking ticket and then, more cheerfully, I went for an eye-test.

I don't much like tests and the simple process of Specsavers assessing my eyesight made me just as tense as any school exam. Could I see the letters more clearly through lens 1 or lens 2? Was there a correct answer? Can I just see lens 1 again, please?

It turns out that my close-range vision is getting worse - due to an age-related hardening of the lens and not a weakening of the eye-muscle, fact fans - but the optometrist suggested there was no need to get glasses just yet, especially as I only really seem to suffer with it when I'm cooking and trying to read ingredients.

And I got full marks on the peripheral vision test! *punches air* *hits light bulb*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.