Fade away

Taken as I lay on the river bank after work.

I was late home today. Predictably work felt unfocused, messy and rather grim. We think we've worked out the difference between the locations where you're 'invited' to have your meeting. One location is known as the 'hatchet room', while the other doesn't have a name but usually people emerge from there with some kind of vague future. Our meeting is in the latter location. But some people I work with or know have meetings scheduled, either on their own, or with one other, in the other location. It's tough for them.

I've sorted myself a straightforward if monotonous task to do in the morning. It's will keep me busy for as long as I need to before we head off to hear whatever it is we have to hear.

Previously I've been restructured three times in four years. You'd think I'd be used to it but this one has a unique 'flavour' (and we did have a reprieve for a couple of years). The part I'm in now is my third review in 12 months. (Yes, I was asking the same question too "how many reviews does it take?").

But enough of that. Once I was home and out of my bike shoes, I headed down to the river to just lie on the river bank. It was warm, sunny and bursting with profound perspective.

This too will fade and pass.

(Oh, and good news, I'm heading back to Okarito at the end of the month. Mum and Dad are coming to stay so I'm taking them there Sunday - Wednesday. Yes, 4 big sleeps at Okarito! Can't wait :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.