Castle Crag towards Honister

A lovely day today meant we had to make the most of it with a walk. Some friends were joining us at lunchtime so we set off up the Lodore Falls and along to Watendlath. From there we went to Rosthwaite where we were meant to meet our friends for a walk up Castle Crag in the afternoon.

They never appeared and with an absence of mobile reception at Rosthwaite we couldn't find out where they were and decided to head off on out own.

The light was absolutely stunning and the views from the top of Castle Crag towards Borrowdale were gorgeous.

I took this shot looking towards the Honister Pass on my way down. Don't ask why its at 800 ISO. I think it's because I used a preset on my camera that I had saved. Anyway it doesn't seem to matter. I loved these trees against the evening light. There are some lovely trees up there and the quarry workings are really interesting.

We eventually met our friends at Grange. They had been held up in traffic. Sad because they missed a lovely day. Total walk was about 8 miles - and I carried my tripod the whole way. Annoyingly I had left my 0.6 grad filter behind but the strong light needed a 0.9 here anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.