Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

A '96 to celebrate 38!

J and I celebrated 38 years today!

We celebrated by going out to dinner to The Greenbriar. When we lived here in Colorado during the early years of our marriage, we often celebrated our anniversaries here. And we also celebrated J's parents' anniversaries with them here as well.

We both had a wonderful Beef Wellington with a superb bottle of Burgundian wine. (Did I ever tell you that I love good wine from all over the world?). Some believe that Americans do not have a sophisticated palate to enjoy good French wine, and that Californian wines are "soda pop" compared to French wine. Well, I must say that I agree and I disagree. I have learned much of wine from California's wonderful wineries, as well as Oregon and Washington wines. And I have become "accustomed" to the bigger bodied, fruit forward, "in your face" kind of wines that come from the American West. Yet, I really love the earthy, more mineral characteristics that I taste in many French wines with delicate nuances between the different regions. I am really enjoying the different characteristics between the different terroirs, as I do enjoy the differences between similar varietals from different areas in California - like the differences between Amador County Zinfandels and Napa Valley Zinfandels, or Oregon Rieslings and Russian River Rieslings.

All in all, we did have a lovely evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.