SWAN AND DUCKS IN THE WESER

swimming in Beverungen where I cycled to after lunch.
Still lying in bed I heard the rain ticking on the window. Did I hear it really?
It were the last drops anyway, and the sky full of dark clouds opened up and the day again was sunny!
In the morning Piet Hein and I worked in the garden. Piet Hein cut the hedge back and I did my best with the big laurel bush and the blackberry bushes.
Another scheme? Yes, another one and it will help to do every day a bit and after some time most of what is needed has been done. Soon enough I hope.
But after lunch I cycled along the Weser, reached Beverungen where I saw the swan pair that lives in the river and the many ducks that keep together, knowing that every day humans come and feed them. Quite a lazy way of living.
I followed the Weser till I reached Blankenau, it did not enter this village, because it is situated higher up.
I turned around and followed the same path back. I enjoyed my trip a lot, so much to see of the surroundings, the hills at the horizon, the blazing sun (quite a miracle it seemed to me), and the rusty trees everywhere.
At five o'clock I was home again, just one minute before it was dark.

My haiku:

Between the green grass
Along the endless river
The path goes both ways

And the proverb:

Rule of thumb.

(= a roughly practical method without scientific basis)

1692 Sir W. Hope, Fencing-Master.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.