EN ROUTE

I seem to get (almost) allways a reward for following my instincts.
In the morning I planted some bulbs near the hut, and did cut back the blackberry bushes that stood in the way. Well, they are everywhere but some make me nervous.
After lunch I was wondering where my feet would take me to.
It was obvious that Piet Hein would stay at home, after one week of not resting he now did feel that he had to slow down, just feel his fatique and adjust his pace. He sat on the balcony when I left for my walk.
I went down the hill to the river and followed the stream upwards. Again it was a wonderful warm, sunny day, so many persons were walking, cycling and enjoying this super autumn day.
I went as far as the tunnel under the railroad, went underneath it and was thinking that I had not a satisfying picture taken yet. At the other side the cycle -path had been asphalted, a fine result since the old path had been not too comfortable.
So I walked my way back on this brand-new path. At some point there are cross-roads and although I wanted to take the lower path, I suddenly decided to take the higher one. And I was rewarded minutes after that.
I had heard (subliminal if that is the right word) trampling of hoofs in the far distance and when I turned around I saw the white horses and the cart with three persons sitting on it come nearer towards me. A fine opportunity for a picture I thought.
Yesterday we had seen them too, trampling along the Weser without an opportunity to capture them.
Some days ago I saw a little creature jump into the river, for a moment I thought is this a rat? (it hardly could be one) or another unknown animal? It swam and dived, and could run upon the water rather swiftly. With the photo Piet Hein had taken we could today identify this little animal and it appeared to be a Dipper (waterspreeuw in durch, Cinclus cinclus in latin). Never we had heard or seen this bird, and we are so exited about it.

My haiku:

Little ladybird
Attracted by the warm sun
Shone as in spring again

And the proverb:

Catch not at the shadow and lose the substance.

1579 Lyly, Euphues




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.