The second half of life..

By twigs

Pest or guest?

There are a couple of swallows who set up home in an area of the school that isn't frequented a great deal but is, nevertheless, a regular route for some.

A month of more ago I noticed them swooping in and out of the area and commented to a colleague how great it was to see them. My colleague's reaction wasn't so favourable. They leave a mess that someone has to clean. That 'someone' just happens to be her husband who is a groundsman! I was horrified a few days later to find that the area I thought their nest was in was clean and nest-free.

How great it was then to spot them again a couple of days ago swooping into the same area, although with a slightly new location for their nest. I took the opportunity this evening to stalk and shoot them. There's no apparent sounds of youngsters from the nest so I'm not sure if they've fledged or whether the eggs are being incubated......or even if there are any eggs yet.

I shall keep a watchful eyte on them :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.