Coffee meeting

Always nice to get away from my desk and computer and have a meeting over coffee.

I'm deeply shocked by the death of Phil Hughes tonight. I played cricket until I sustained a head injury playing it in my last year of high school.

I lost 6 months of school and looking back it affected me for several years. But that was long ago and how very different it is for all those who and loved him.

I was good at cricket, or at least bowling, with the bat I was mediocre. Strangely I was bowling when I was hit in the head with the cricket ball, not batting.

I was bowling the last ball of the last over of the last game of the season. The weaker of the two batsmen was facing. I knew where I was to bounce the ball and force her to take a poor stroke that would result in a catch.

The ball came straight back down the pitch. Hard. There had been light rain earlier and the pitch was slippery. My feet slipped and off balance I took the ball in the left temple.

We never know what is around the corner. Live life to the full and keep short accounts.

Blimey, I started with coffee and ended with philosophy ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.