Dave and Nora

We drove down to Dave and Nora's for Thanksgiving today. There were friends and family there too and we had a delicious dinner. Nora made a wonderful turkey. Dave made the mashed potatoes. Nora made her scrummy sweet potato dish that is one of my favorites. We brought desert and other guests brought broccoli and salad. The dinner was great. We ate early so we could watch the Seahawks' game. That went well as they beat the 49ers handily. We had a lovely day.

I had lots of photos to blip because Dave, Arvin, Helena and I walked Dave and Nora's little dog Dexter down to the waterfront. While we were there a huge tanker went by along with a couple of tugs. And at the same time a small ferry came the other way. Lots of activity and a beautiful sunny afternoon. But when it came down to it, I decided to blip my brother and his wife. I think when I look back at this day, seeing them will be a great reminder of the lovely day we had. And since it is Thanksgiving, my family, including both of my brothers and Dave's wife Nora, is one of the things I am so grateful for. I am a lucky lady.

Lately I've been moving gradually toward seeing my journal more as a memory journal and less a place to exhibit my photos. I think this is due to the fact that I've been back blipping and realize that when I have a choice in the past I tend to pick memory photos instead of "arty"ones. This may continue or I may move back to "arty" photos again. I'm not sure.

Hope all the folks on Blip from the US had a great Thanksgiving today. I find that I think almost daily about things I'm thankful for and there are many. So having a special day for being thankful doesn't have quite the impact it might. But it is nice to take a moment to recognize the things I am thankful for. I feel like I am a very lucky woman in so many ways. Hope you all have a moment each day to reflect on what you are thankful for. It really does make life easier and happier to remember the good stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.