Symmetry

Firstly I just want to thank all who've dropped in on my journal over the last couple of days. Your hearts and stars raised my lonely cormorant to the top row of the Spotlight where it sat for much of the day. Also I really appreciate all the supportive comments made on yesterday's blip, where I marked the passing of my lovely dog, Rosie. It seems very strange without her, but I actually feel quite calm, now that the anguish of the decision is over.

Today was largely spent at the computer, which was no great hardship on another dreich November day. But in the afternoon the clouds started to break up, and the sun appeared briefly - giving me an excuse to escape from the computer and seek some much needed light. As usual the best colours developed after sunset. I had several blippable options, but choise this one because of the symmetry and the fact that it reminded me of the inkblot tests (also called the "Rorschach" test) used as a method of psychological evaluation. This test is often employed in diagnosing underlying thought disorders and differentiating psychotic from non-psychotic thinking in cases where the patient is reluctant to openly admit to psychotic thinking.

It's very odd to see the Rowing Lake so empty at this time of year. Normally there is a large population of overwintering swans, up to 100 in some years, but tonight there was only a single one at my end of the lake, though there may have been a few more on the bank at the far end, scarcely distinguishable in the dusk. Where have they all gone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.