Fleas, Firs and Fire

This is the second time writing so will keep it short - I didn't hear that roar of "Hurray".

Took Angie's outing to the "Flea" Market in Sontheim to hitch a ride for myself and the dogs. The jumble sale is about 6 times a year and attracts people from far & wide. A must on Angie's calendar but I don't go. Was amazed at the hundreds of cars. Thought I would quickly pop in to take a Blip as the grey weather was again not going to produce any landscape opportunities.

Most of the stalls are in the various halls but some outdoors and settled on the first one nearest to the entrance. Saw something that interested me and ended up chatting with the owner for good half hour. Probably pleased to get rid of me, he gave me the object for free. Truth is he was very interested in the Blip bit and most of our discussion and the object I looked at were connected with a recent theme on my journal - European Union. I will Blip the thing another day and explain more.

Then popped in to the main hall to get a Black Friday like mob scene. In front of me another stand with ancient royal objects this time from UK, Jersey, Guernsey and Isle of Man. Couldn't resist and ended up having to call Angie on the mobile to lend me 2 Euros. I had spent my whole weeks 5 Euros pocket money. Later discovered had also got some ancient Danish royalty. Again will Blip another day.

Then off with the dogs zigzaging our way over fields and streams getting home after almost 2 hours. Angie came home later loaded though mainly with "presents" for others.

After a quick bite, Angie set off in to the forest with car and trailer to steal a Christmas Tree. In fact it was the top of a spruce knocked over by storm Gonzalo a few weeks ago. It is legal to take fallen wood /remains after harvesting without paying so long as one uses a hand saw or axe, the wood is under 10cm diameter and you must carry it out on foot or bike. No chainsaws or cars and certainly no trailers. Say no more than I hid far away and took evidence Blips of my innocence.

Wanting an early night, we both came in at 18:00 to find a message from Mr&MrsB announcing Glühwein at 18:30. Got dressed again and popped over for a thermos or two in their drive with neighbout Thomas. Started with a typical red variety and then for the first time a white one. Very good. MrB looked vey much the part with his felt hat and loden cape. I think I could make money as his manager, getting him to do English Christmas Market appearances. Dates still available for 2015 but please book soon to avoid disappointment.

As expected I was drunk after two cups and stuffed full of Lebkuchen. So much for the early night but thanks the B's for a lovely end to the first Advent Sunday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.