andypowe11

By andypowe11

Should I stay or should I go

Grafitti on one of the bridges over the River Avon on the Bristol Bath Railway Path.

Well come on and let me know
Should I stay or should I go?


Should I stay or should I go
The Clash

Not my favorite era of Clash songs but it's become something of an anthem I guess.

The Clash (by The Clash) was the first punk album I ever bought - I still have my copy in the loft. A mate of mine also had a copy and I have a very strong recollection of sitting in his bedroom listening to it, the Jam (In the City) and (I think) Elvis Costello (My Aim is True).

We also saw The Clash live a couple of times in the early days. Firstly at The Rainbow in Finsbury Park (the gig where all the seats got ripped out if anyone remembers it), then at the big Rock Agaianst Racism march thru London from Trafalgar Square to Victoria Park. Both in 1978 I think. Happy memories.

Oh, and while I'm at it... two other pieces of useless Clash-related trivia. We (me and the same mate) saw Mick Jones getting beaten up one night outside The Music Machine in Camden (where Don Letts was the resident DJ at the time). I have no idea what the fight was about. I also remember literally bumping into a very drunk Joe Strummer with Phil Lynott (of Thin Lizzy) walking out of the Music Machine, both trying to sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.