Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Got that holiday feeling'

I had a hard time picking "the one" today but I ultimately landed on this one because it will always make me smile.

Peg, Kura and I met up for lunch at a little French bakery where we whiled away a few hours. By then it was raining and about 39 F outside - in a word, miserable. Which meant that 5th Avenue was lacking the usual holiday throngs ...and that meant we could enjoy looking at all the store windows without having to push and shove. Bliss! In all my years living in this city, I've never had such a tame and civilized look at the windows in December.

Even the tree at Rock Center was relatively free of crowds. And the Salvation Army volunteers (featured here) were rocking out on the sidewalk. It was impossible not to laugh. This isn't a particularly great photo, but I like it for what I'll remember when I see it. A day spent with two very dear friends...

And today's funniest episode...I went up to a homeless man who was sitting on the sidewalk begging. I gave him a dollar and asked if I could take his picture. A heated conversation followed in which he told me I was a "racist asshole"...well, that sure didn't go at all as I had envisioned. I really wanted to ask for my dollar back!

I've posted several other shots on Flickr. And I will add the link later as I don't seem to be able to do it from my iPad.

Thanks for the comments on yesterday's subway scene. Its very fun for me to do street photography!

Xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.