Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Series?

So I know this one is a lot like my blip from last week, but I wanted to try it again. I really liked how it turned out and wanted to see if I could replicate it but make it different at the same time.

I have a really hard time doing the same thing over and over. When I was a potter, I was hired to make a full set of dishes. After I had made only 3 identical plates and identical 5 bowls, I was done. I gave them to the woman for free and told her I just couldn't do it. I had always thought I'd be a gallery potter. Maybe make a series where all the pots were related but not the same. Of course, I chose another path in order to sustain my living the last 15 years. Sadly, that choice equals a paycheck but little creativity.

With photography, there is no reason to ever repeat something exactly. That's the beauty of this medium for me. Why on earth would you want 2 identical photos? Just print 2 and call it quits. Photography has so much more depth for me. I can sit and imagine a never ending list of ways I could take just a simple photo of my son's face (lighting, shadows, color, b&w, sepia, cropping, etc.....) and have each one be completely different and interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.