Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Burnt Hill

A gale warning was issued for last night and it certainly did blow. I lay awake for hours listening to scary unfamiliar noises in the roof. Then there was rain that lashed my window. It was a relief this morning to find no damage done.

I went to the Waimakariri Gorge to see if the river was flooded, because the storm would be worse in the mountains. It was so different from last Saturday. The wind still had a hint of honey, but it was cool and very gusty. I intended taking a photo of the same spot as the fishing shot, but I could barely stay upright, let alone stand on tiptoes with my camera held high above my head as I did last time. The water level was up, covering the whitish layer you can see in that blip.

The wind was too strong for me to venture out onto the bridge. I had no desire to be blown into the path of traffic. I went to seek shelter among the trees of the picnic ground. It was very exciting. The gorge acts as a funnel to concentrate the wind. Trees and bushes were being battered.

From there I took this shot of Burnt Hill across the river, which at this point opens out to a broad expanse. The hill is 368m high (1207 feet), and it is like an island rising out of the Plains. One of these days I must take a Bliptrip to the other side because I only ever see it from the south.

Good viewed in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.