LL Cool Jim

By LLCoolJim

Change the mp3 man

I spotted this front page of the Wednesday Indy on our rack today. Took me back once again (sorry) to the last episode of The Thick of It just over a month ago. Armando - inspired and informed once again:

Night news editor of the Daily Mail: "What's the news? Just tell me what the fucking news is and I'll put it on the front page. It's not like we're the Independent. We can't just stick a headline saying CRUELTY then stick a picture of a dolphin or a whale underneath it."

I was digging their front page leads a couple of years ago. All that hardcore investigative journalism and sub-heads peppered with pertinent red words. A good few papers started imitating it. Now it's samey and tiresome. Change the record man - change the front page. Move on. A picture of a cow with it's foot in its mouth may have been a better lead given the "actual" news but, hey, they're independent.

Nb: The Daily Mail news editor's words - "Just tell me what the fucking news is and I'll put it on the front page" - well the real Daily Mail news editor..... he'd stick the cow on the front page with "Arghhhh - we're all gonna die". The Express would try and link the outbreak to Princess Diana. The Guardian would blame whoever's in power.

Och I'm gonna stop this cynical shit right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.