a town called E.

By Eej

Duck Delight


The weather was no fun today, so we did just did a lake drive-by. I spotted three (giant!) ducks at the boat-launch parking lot so we went over there to see if they wanted to be fed.
I love ducks. I think they are the funniest of birds with their ungraceful waddle and ridiculous quacks, but they are beautiful in their own special way :)

They came running towards the car, quacking like they had been dying from starvation and we were the only people in the world.

I didn't fall for that, seeing how the bravest/most in-your-face one practically ate the bread out of my hand and all three of them came close enough for me to use the macro setting, if they had actually sat still.
You'd think that after yesterdays butterfly chase I'd be smart enough to Blip a non-moving subject :/

While I was feeding them another car pulled up. The woman in it was entertained by my attempts to teach the ducks some table manners and how I kept the two dominant ones from harassing the third, much meeker, one.

When I was done she rolled down her window again and started talking about their famousness. I said:"They are famous?" and she pointed at my camera. I told her that they'd be on the internet before the day was done, she told me the third duck (not in this shot) is called Theodore. The other two yahoos, she said, don't have names yet. I suggested she'd call at least one of them 'yahoo' which she thought was a good idea.

Let me be the first to introduce to you: Yahoo and Yahoo 2 :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.