Big Hill

By bighill

Glazed over!

It's been an 'interesting' day here at Big Hill!!! The weather has been just plain ugly....raining, heavy mist and damp. We're hosting a retreat here this weekend, so lots of cleaning, putting away of stuff.....making up beds etc....there might be about 9-10 of us over the weekend. I always enjoy the contemplation of a retreat, lots of space - physically and psychologically.....usually lots of quiet time and always very interesting conversations. We'll start off thurs evening and end saturday evening...usually with a lovely big feast!

But the challenge is always what to blip on a grey and drab day like this...i like that it offers me the opportunity (almost wrote ...it forces me...) to be more attentive to what is going on around me, with all the bits and pieces of my life. So, I macro-studied this awesome piece of pottery, made by one of my longest standing friends, Audrey! I've always loved the textures and glazes she managed to get on this piece, which I've owned for over 20 years...she was a pretty wild artist (still is pretty off the wall!!!) and i always found her work inspirational and beautiful!!! At some point I'll blip the whole piece!

Then after a nice walk, I headed into the house to get supper ready and Terry headed off to the A cabin to check things out! Oh My God....the door of the cabin had been left open for god knows how long, pipes had burst and the place was flooded!!! Poor guy came back in a very worried state! So we quickly downed our supper and headed off, in the rain and mist...with our flashlights...to the A cabin. We managed to mop up a fair amount of the mess, put the heat on and some fans....and now we just have to wait! We'll head back there in the morning to reassess the damage! Not what you want to find - pretty well anytime!

Anyhooo, now we're both warm and dry, and I have a glass of wine to deal with!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.