My Everyday

By MyEveryday

A Piece of History

If you have a few moments and did not visit my journal yesterday, please do, and this photo will make much more sense to you.

It is amazing how long it takes to build a home....It took us over a year to build our new home, and took only 5 hours to take down the old farm house....
Watching the house come down yesterday was an absolutely surreal sight full of many, many conflicting emotions. I watched the beginning of the destruction from the warmth of my new house, sheltered from the incredible cold wind and rain we were experiencing. Unsatisfied with seeing it from 300 feet away, I bundled both my son and I up, put him in the backpack, grabbed both my camera and video camera, and we walked up to the old house site. Being right there to hear every board snap, the tin rip over and over, and the constant crumble of debris was so incredibly different than watching from a distant window....What really caught me emotionally by surprise, was seeing my daughter's bedroom being exposed to the outside world, while the rest of the house was still put together.

We stayed as long as we could due to the horrible weather (my one year old really enjoyed listening to the loud noises the tracco made, but wasn't too keen on the wind and rain :)

Later in the day, my husband and I walked out to capture some photos. It was amazing how we didn't recognize anything. The physical labor we had put into it 3 years ago was all at the bottom of the pile. Everything else on top was rotten wood, old vibrantly colored wall paper from the 40's and 50's, and old yellowed newspaper that was once used to insulate the walls...the newspaper that we could sort through was from 1947.

The house is now just a pile of debris that is being taken by truck load to the dump, but the memories will always remain here on the family farm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.